Built in 1819, the Market Hall was initially designed as an open-air public market with the magistrate’s office upstairs. Its architectural touch included arches at both ends to provide a passage for wagons. In 1868, the hall transitioned to an enclosed space that accommodated various functions over time, including a Masonic Lodge, theatre, library, and the Town Hall. However, the market has now been restored to its formal glory to its historic state and is maintained by the Historical Society. Now, guests will find an array of homemade semi-precious gem jewelry, knitted items, paintings, and many other treasures within several artisan stalls.
Read more about the Market Hall here.